About DURP

Department Milestones

The University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign appointed the first Professor of City Planning in the United States in Charles Mulford Robinson, who was welcomed to the Division of Landscape Architecture in 1913. Below are major milestones in the Department's history.

Here is a list of planning faculty at UIUC since 1913. Below are major milestones in the growth of the department.

1907 The Division of Landscape Gardening initiates degree program within the Department of Horticulture.
1912 The Division of Landscape Architecture created. Only Illinois and Harvard offer planning programs with studios and workshops.
1913 Charles Mulford Robinson appointed Professor of Civic Design.
1920 The Bachelor of Fine Arts in Landscape Architecture approved. The degree has a concentration in city and regional planning.
1924 Library established in Mumford Hall.
1931 The Division of Landscape Architecture restructured into the Department of Landscape Architecture in the College of Fine and Applied Arts.
1934 The Bureau of Community Planning, an extension and research unit, established.
1945 The Master of City Planning degree approved.
1953 The Bachelor of Fine Arts in City Planning created.
1954 The Department is renamed the Department of City Planning and Landscape Architecture, incorporating the Bureau of Community Planning. UIUC is one of sixteen university planning programs in the U.S.
1965 Two separate departments formed. The new Department of Urban and Regional Planning offers a Bachelor of Arts in Urban Planning and a Master of Urban Planning.
1983 The Ph.D. in Regional Planning authorized.
1995 The Department moves to its current location in Temple Hoyne Buell Hall.